Bunny Cat says, “hi.” Or rather, he says something like “meh,” meaning that you probably annoy him, but he’s too lazy for aggression.

 On WeChat, I asked my vegetable dealers Ma Jie and Miao Li about the cheapest leafy greens. Was it xiao baicai, I asked, thinking of the cute bundles we call ‘baby bok choy’ in the USA. “How much do you want to buy?” Came the reply.

 What arrived at the house was actually this large, mustard-like green. Three jin amounts to six bundles.


The idea, admittedly vague at the moment, was to make juice. Kale isn’t as common among local dealers like Ma Jie, but one brassica should be as good as another, right?

Trial one. Following the tips I found on Hungryforchange.tv, I juiced one bundle of greens, one bundle of Chinese celery, a small bunch of cilantro, and a one-inch piece of ginger.[1][2] The result is a potent, dark green tonic. To this I combined sweet juice for something palatable:

1. 200 mL greens juice + 400 mL orange juice. Adam comments that the acid of the orange juice is harsh. To me the stuff is bland, with disappointing notes of weedy and weak sweetness.

Making juice is harder than I thought!

2. 100 mL greens juice + 300 mL grape juice. Fresh grape juice is dull grey in color, syrupy, somewhat cloying. Also a disappointment. Adding the greens improves the color and gives a grassy edge, but it still isn’t what I’d call “good.”

Back to the drawing board for tomorrow.

Footnotes

1. The link is to a website of a documentary called Hungry for Change. I have not seen the film, but the producers seem to have aimed at getting it shown in schools around the USA.
2. Thanks to “Lorelle on WordPress” for posting a good explanation of how to create footnotes. Workshops and Classes by Lorelle VanFossen

